Mmm…Macarons! Those Parisian little gems adorned with exotic colours look so delicious and taste absolutely divine!
They are made from almond meal, egg white, and sugar, and are naturally gluten-free! The almond nut flour – one of the primary ingredients – contains no gluten and neither do the egg whites or sugar.
That’s great news if have gluten intolerance or Coeliac disease, you can still indulge on those cookies. Only problem is that macron domes are sandwiched together with filling which may contain gluten. So while the macaron cookies are probably ok to eat for most people with gluten intolerance you need to sass out the filling!
The good news is that some chocolate brands are gluten free. (Chocolate is used in ganache fillings.) For example, Cadbury Chocolate makes gluten-free chocolate.
Cadbury Chocolate provides a very informative Gluten Information, to help you read the sables and make informed and safe chocolate choices:
NO GLUTEN SOURCE – does not contain ingredients from a gluten source: These products do not contain any ingredients that contain gluten. We do not make a “Gluten free” disclaimer on our products, instead choosing to provide you with the information upon which to make decisions.
TRACE AMOUNTS OF GLUTEN: Contains less than 20 mg/kg GLUTEN – (source is generally Wheat Glucose Syrup where the level of Gluten is below 10mg / kg. Also includes products where Wheat Starch blend is used as the moulding agent resulting in a dusting of starch on the outside of the product.)
CONTAINS GLUTEN: Contains GLUTEN in excess of 20 mg/kg. Will contain Wheat Starch, Wheat Flour or Wheat Dextrin’s as principle gluten source although other grains may be present. Levels of Gluten may vary significantly as will overall levels of Gluten containing materials.
Please be careful and read the labels. Some Coeliacs cannot have glucose from wheat syrup and some of the chocolate listed as ‘gluten free’ uses glucose from wheat syrup!
So much for fillings. Specking of macarons I thought this is interesting too…
Not sure if this is true however a rumour goes that some companies add flour in order to save a few bucks. So, I guess, if you’re out and about (and just before you buy a macaron!) be sure to ASK them if their macarons contain no wheat flour.
Better be safe than sorry! Of course, it makes sense to learn how to make them at home, that way you know exactly what you put in. If you’d love to master the craft of macaron making then check out The Macaron Master – shows how to make smooth, bakery-quality macarons without fancy kitchen equipment!
If you have an allergy to wheat/dairy then macarons may be the sweets you can enjoy!